What are the Common Core State Standards?

Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject and at each grade level. The Common Core State Standards (CCSS), adopted by California in 2010, were developed through a state-led national initiative. The standards were designed to better prepare American students for success in college, career, and the competitive global economy.

Lucerne Elementary School is now in the process of implementing the Common Core standards. Full implementation of the new standards and assessments is expected by 2014-15.


ELA          K-2, 3-5, 6-8
MATH       K-2, 3-5, 6-8

Implementation of the Common Core Standards in California will require changes to curriculum, instruction, assessment, and professional development.

More information on the Common Core Standards:

Common Core State Standards Initiative

California Department of Education Common Core Website

English - Language Arts/Literacy Standards

Mathematics Standards

What's Next After STAR Testing?

The current system of assessments in California, encompassed primarily under the Standardized Testing and Reporting (STAR) program, are aligned to the state's previous academic content standards. As California begins implementing the Common Core State Standards, the assessment system will need to evolve to reflect both the new standards and assessment methodologies.

More information on assessments:

CDE Common Core Assessment - The Department of Education website provides information about the state's participation in the SMARTER-Balanced Assessment Consortium.

State Superintendent's Recommendations for Transitioning California to a Future Assessment System - This California Department of Education website provides information on the State Superintendent's 12 recommendations for reauthorization of the state assessment plan.

California Department of Education News Release - October 2, 2013

Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium

CDE's Smarter Balanced Assessment Resources